The Provincial Government of Laguna (PGL) gave awards and recognitions to outstanding farmers and agricultural workers for the year 2010-2011 last May 20, 2011 at the Cultural Center of Laguna in Sta. Cruz. This activity is in line with the celebration of the Farmer’s Month.

Ato Belen with Laguna Governor Jeorge Estregan, OPA - FAES OIC Juanito T. Samson, Engr. Redeliza Gruezo of APCO Laguna, Technician-in-Charge Armie delas Alas, and son Brian

The winners by category were as follows:

  • Rice – Mauro Adofina of Siniloan; Technician-in-Charge Florean Visitacion
  • Corn – Sofronio Cabrera of Calamba; Technician-in-Charge Marissa Sanchez
  • Organic Farmer – Ronald Costales of Majayjay; Technician-in-Charge Fe Panaglima
  • Young Farmer – Maine Tuiza of Calamba; Technician-in-Charge Marissa Sanchez
  • HVCC-Small Holder – Renato Belen of San Pablo; Technician-in-Charge Armie delas Alas
  • Agricultural Entrep – Escaba Food Products of San Pablo; Technician-in-Charge Ma Cynthia Bacod
  • Farm Family – Maximo Aquino & Family of Pangil; Technician-in-Charge Lourdes Pajarillo
  • MAFC – Cabuyao MAFC; Technician-in-Charge Aida Vispo
  • RIC – Talangka RIC of Sta. Maria; Technician-in-Charge Anicia Selda
  • Small Organization – Luisiana Livestock MPC; Technician-in-Charge Ronnel Taguilaso
  • Small Organization – Calamba CRG; Technician-in-Charge Ruby Arenas
  • Agricultural Scientist – Rosauro Baldia of Liliw; Technician-in-Charge Precy Esmejarda
  • Fisherman-Fish Culture – Enrico Fabros of Pangil; Technician-in-Charge Felicisimo Ajes
  • Green Corn Derby – Isidro Panganiban of Calamba; Technician-in-Charge Melanie Lorenzo
  • Green Corn Derby – Armando Onate of Sta. Maria; Technician-in-Charge Leonora Reveral
  • MFARMC – Pila MFARMC; Technician-in-Charge Sydney David
  • Best LGU – Municipality of Magdalena

The winners were scrutinized and chosen based on the recommendations of the Municipal Agriculture Officers and evaluated by a committee formed by the Field Agricultural Extension Office headed by Mr. Juanito T. Samson. This was in coordination with the Department of Agriculture Region 4-A, headed by Dir. Abelardo R. Bragas.

Laguna Governor Jeorge E.R. Ejercito Estregan salutes the farmers for their patience, perseverance and hard work in farming. The Governor, personally gave the plaques and cash prizes to all the outstanding farmers and technician-in-charge for the different categories. ■

Written by Phoebie C. Jimenez

Source: www.laguna.gov.ph


  1. John Samuel D. Magsino

    Sana po naaalala nyo ako. Kasama po ako sa nag farm visit sa farm nyo last month. Madami po kaming natutunan sa inyo. Nakaka-inspire po na magpursige sa farming. Congratulations po!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s